## MINUTES OF THE CENTRAL CITY BOARD OF EDUCATION December 16, 2024

The Central City Board of Education met at 8:00 p.m., on Monday, December 16, 2024 in the Central City High School Conference Room at 1510 28<sup>th</sup> Street in Central City, NE 68826.

## Pledge of Allegiance

Roll call showed the following members present: Brian Buhlke, Aaron Heins, Chuck Homolka, Brent Kennedy, Lisa Wagner, and Brett Zikmund. Also present: Jeff Jensen, Superintendent.

It was moved by Buhlke, seconded by Kennedy, that it is hereby determined that this meeting was preceded by advanced notice by publishing in the Republican Nonpareil and by posting notices at the Superintendent's Office, Merrick County Courthouse and City Hall Office and is hereby declared to be duly convened in open session and a copy of the agenda is posted in the Superintendent's Office. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Zikmund. Nays: None. Absent: None.

The school district treasurer's financial report disclosed a reconciled unencumbered balance of \$3,941,081.50 as of November 30, 2024.

The high school activities fund account disclosed a balance on November 30, 2024 of \$358,435.97, middle school activity fund disclosed a balance of \$19,183.02, and the elementary activity fund disclosed a balance of \$22,173.12. The cafeteria account disclosed a balance of \$2,239.40.

It was moved by Kennedy, seconded by Zikmund, to approve the agenda of the meeting. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Zikmund. Nays: None. Absent: None.

It was moved by Buhlke, seconded by Heins, to approve the consent agenda action items, which include minutes from November 18, 2024, financial review of funds, and December claims. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Zikmund. Nays: None. Absent: None.

The Board Reviewed policies 5065, 5075, 5080, 5085, and 5085.1 with no Changes.

It was moved by Buhlke, seconded by Homolka, to revise Policy #2008: Public Meetings, per Unicameral changes. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Zikmund. Nays: None. Absent: None.

It was moved by Kennedy, seconded by Zikmund, to revise Policy #3004.1 Purchases with Federal Funds, per changes in federal requirements. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Zikmund. Nays: None. Absent: None.

It was moved by Buhlke, seconded by Holmolka, to approve the 2025-2026 Master Calendar. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Zikmund. Nays: None. Absent: None. It was moved by Buhlke, seconded by Zikmund, to approve the evaluation and contract of Superintendent Jensen. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Zikmund. Nays: None. Absent: None.

It was moved by Buhlke, seconded by Holmolka, to approve the recognition of the CCEA as the Collective Bargaining unit for the 2026-2027 Contract Year. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Zikmund. Nays: None. Absent: None.

The Board discussed, but took no action, on the Americanism Committee Report and established dates and times for Personnel and Building Committees.

It was moved by Heins, seconded by Zikmund, to set regular board meeting for January 20, 2024 at 8:00p.m. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Zikmund. Nays: None. Absent: None.

It was moved by Buhlke, seconded by Kennedy, to recognize: NSAA Academic All-State of Cheyenne Veach & Alyssa Wood (Girls Golf), Deja Fothergill & Emma Steinke (SB), Kit Brooks, Gracie Vakiner, Paul Johson, and Austin Wood (XC), Sarah Musil & Brookly Richardson (VB), Bryce Kunz & Jakob Ruhl (FB), Volleyball Awards of Sydni Homolka (1<sup>st</sup> Team All-Conference, 2<sup>nd</sup> Team All-Heartland, All-State HM), Brookly Richardson (1<sup>st</sup> Team All-Conference, 3<sup>rd</sup> Team All-Heartland, All-State HM), Hope Paup (2<sup>nd</sup> Team All-Conference, All-Heartland HM), Adrianna Westman (All-Conference HM), and Skylir Fischer (All-Conference HM), the Football Team for their State Runner-Up finish and Individual Awards of Corbin Kyes (1<sup>st</sup> Team All-State, All-District), Wyatt Dent (1<sup>st</sup> Team All-State, All-District), Riley Lavene (1<sup>st</sup> Team All-State, All-District), Truman Ryan (All-District, All-State HM), Parker Zikmund (All-District, All-State HM), Colter Lueders (All-District, All-State HM), Bryce Kunz (All-District, All-State HM), Turner Hanke (All-District, All-State HM), Josiah Davis (All-District HM), Ryan Brandes (All-District HM), Conner Erickson (All-District HM), Jacob Brazee (All-District HM), Trey Urban (All-District HM), and the Subs of the Elementary that are consistently in the building Genie Solt, Diane Root, Alicia Lingreen, Jessica Fothergill, Tiffani Wymer, and Kali Jansen, Veterans of the Community Bob Sullivan and Don Wemhoff, and Suzanne Philippi, Micah Hesterman, and Dane Christensen for their extra work with the Band Program. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Zikmund. Nays: None. Absent: None.

Meeting adjourned at 8:25p.m.

I, the undersigned Secretary of the Central City Board of Education, hereby certify that the foregoing minutes is a true and correct representation of the meeting of the Central City Board of Education held in open session on December 16, 2024. Dated this 16th day of December, 2024.

Respectfully Submitted,